jump to navigation

Talia’s cancer has relapsed August 17, 2010

Posted by Amanda Kern in Uncategorized.
trackback

When I saw this message from Talia Friday evening my heart nearly stopped.

August 11-13th Talia went through scans in New York which came back on Friday August 13th indicating she has had her cancer return in two places. Talia’s battle with neuroblastoma has returned for a third time.

Though we all know Talia is one amazing strong spirited little girl, I don’t think anything, not even past experiences could have prepared her to have received this news. I’ve been told she’s in good spirits but as you might imagine it’s not easy for her to accept that the cancer has returned.

Desiree flew up to New York to be by Talia’s side during the scans and remains in New York as Talia begins her chemotherapy treatments. Knowing that one of the side effects of chemo is losing their hair, Talia expressed an interest in dying her hair blonde. Yes, our little diva friend seemed to have a little fun changing her hair color this past weekend. Desiree shared a few photos with me taken on her phone to help share with you all that Talia is in good spirits and definitely looks super with her new hair!

I spoke with Desiree again this morning, who thankfully is able to stay by Talia’s side during high dose chemo treatments. Talia started her first treatment this morning and will have more over the next few days. They’re anticipating that she will begin feeling the side effects soon. In the near future she’ll likely be needing platelets. It breaks my heart to know how quickly this news has changed things for Talia. Though I know she’s a strong little girl who has amazing support behind her, I can only imagine how devastating this news is for her, her family and all those who are closest to her. Though we know she will need the support medically to see her through the challenges ahead as she fights cancer again, now she needs our support more than ever before. Reading some of the facts of cancer and Neuroblastoma certainly make us all worry about Talia’s health, but if there’s one thing I know it’s that Talia is one resilient little girl. If anyone can beat cancer again it is her.

Since learning of Talia’s cancer they’ve since reestablished her port so that she can receive her medicine and IV fluids easily and regularly. Desiree sent me these two photos. The first shows her with her beside her backpack that holds her IV fluids. Rather than admitting her into the hospital they return to the Ronald McDonald house after her treatments with this backpack. The photo on the right shows Talia shortly after beginning her first chemo treatment.

Tomorrow is Talia’s 11th birthday. On her birthday they won’t stop chemo treatments. She’s likely to begin not feeling as well due to the side effects of chemo. But I think she knows just how loved she is and how much support surrounds her as she begins this journey once again against cancer. Hopefully everyone begins to say their prayers for Talia. Hopefully she’s able to make her birthday wish…I think we’re all wishing that soon she’ll be cancer free for good.

I anticipate many of you are just as concerned as I am want to know how Talia is doing as she fights cancer again. I will continue to update you all as I learn more through the blog and I have just established a facebook fan page to help support Talia and to also update you all. If you happen to be on facebook I encourage you to “like” the fan page to stay updated with how Talia is doing. I know Talia will enjoy seeing how many of us are out here routing for her to beat cancer again.

Stay strong Talia!

Comments»

1. Marsha - August 17, 2010

I love you.

2. Charlene Crescente - August 18, 2010

Dear Talia,

I love you my friend. I hope to come and see you soon. I will send you pictures on your facebook.

Love always,
Charlene

3. Lois & Lowell & Haley - August 18, 2010

Hi Talia,

We are surrounding you in prayers and Love and Light. We keep you always in our hearts…

Happy Birthday today!!!!!!!! You are an amazing and beautiful person, and we love you so much.

The blond hair is fun, too. :)

Lois and Lowell and Haley

4. Theo - August 20, 2010

Hey Talia,
Its Theo from camp. First I would like to wish you a happy belated birthday and second I love the blond. I dont know if you got some stuff from Sunrise yet but I thought I leave a comment on your page and plus you can blame those who didnt tell me until the last day but consider this my get well message. From one survivor to another I just want to say that I am there with you and I know you can fight this. I have a friend who was diagnosed with neuroblastoma and she is looking good and doing great. She even runs a website to raise money for a cure. I want you to do one thing: Keep being the fun loving crazy Talia we all know and love. We had some great times together from yelling on the bus during UNO games to you painting my nails purple. Everytime I look at my nails I just smile and say man that was one fun camper and I am one crazy counselor LOL. I hope this long comment makes you feel better and look neuroblastoma in the eye and kick it in the teeth =D

Theo

PS. If you are interested here is that site I mentioned earlier if you want to read about my friend. Her name is Anna. http://www.annashope.com/

5. Marsha - August 22, 2010

Do you know exactly where her relapse sites are? When is she coming home? Why is she being treated at Sloan Kettering and not Arnold Palmer? Does Dr. Eslin concur re. treatment and regimen at MSKCC?

Many thanks!

Marsha

6. Marsha - August 22, 2010

I love you, Talia. Stay with sugarfree diet. I know it’s hard on top of everything else.

7. Kendall Telep - August 22, 2010

Hey Talia,

I miss you so much! I wish it was still 2nd grade again so we could hang out and pretend that nothing was wrong. I pray for you everyday and think about. Just think ” im gonna get better and live my life the way i want to when this is all over!”

love,
Kendall Telep

8. Diane Bloom - August 22, 2010

Talia,

We miss seeing you around Ohev! We were thrilled to see you back at the end of last year’s Hebrew school session.

We are routin’ for you through your treatmentss.
Blonde definitely looks very grown up on you! Stay strong. the words we recite after having read a book of the Torah come to mind, “Chazak, Chazak, V’neetchazayk!” May you go from strength to strength!

Regards,
Diane, Alan, Ross and Hannah Bloom

9. Rabbi David Kay - August 23, 2010

Dear Talia –

Don’t know if Hebrew letters will come through, but I’ll share this anyway (see translation below):

מי שברך אמותינו שרה רבקה רחל ולאה הוא יברך את ידידתנו טליה וישלח רפואה שלמה מין השמים רפואת הנפש ורפואת הגוף ויחזק את ידי עוסקי צוכיה

“May God who blessed our ancestors Sarah, Rebecca, Rachel, and Leah bless our dear one, Talia, and send her a complete healing — a healing of spirit and of body — and strengthen the hands of those who see to her needs.”

We love you, Talia!

– Rabbi Kay and your Ohev Shalom family

10. Lisa Green - August 28, 2010

Dear Talia –
You don’t know me, but my son, Leon, was in your religious school class at Ohev in 2007. We think of you and your family often. You are a fighter and an inspiration for many. You have a lot of people rooting for you.

Warmly,
Lisa, David, Leon and Seth Green

11. maria & lilly New York, NY - August 30, 2010

Talia

I feel so lucky to have met you, I am so sorry that we could not stay to visit with you longer~ Lilly was very upset, but looking forward to a play date with you very soon. Be strong sweet girl <3

12. camiladiez - September 18, 2010

hi,
talia i hope the best for you i know you can fight it juat thin positive like kendaall said think you will soon be here leading a normal life i hope the bestt things to you we all miss you even though we arent at the same school anymore.
be strong and you soon you will be better then okk

Love,
camila

13. Ginger Wriborg - September 20, 2010

Hey, Talia, I told your Mom I would send pictures of you riding with Jere on his motorcycle last year at Quynn’s birthday, other pics of you and Quynn acting goofy with sunshades and pink hair !! that was a fun day !! I was so glad to have met you. Of course , like everyone else, I am praying for you and have several churches in several states praying for you also..hope to see you soon !!

14. Rosie Wilder - September 27, 2010

Dear Talia,
I haven’t seen you in a long time, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t thought of you and prayed for you to get better–for your body’s strength to catch up to your strength of spirit. This latest challenge sounds like the toughest. I’d be thinking to myself, “Enough already! I want to dance and be done with sickness.” There’s nothing to really say–I can’t make it better. If you come back to Florida, I’d like my grandson Charles to meet you. He’s into singing and dancing, and is pretty good at it. You could encourage him to go to some classes, etc. Saying so long for now.
Rosie Wilder
(The Wish lady)

15. Sarah Rexroat - October 27, 2010

Hi Talia,
My name is Sarah and I had the pleasure of meeting your mom at La Mela restaurant on Sunday night. She told me the story about you and it touched my heart. I would love to meet you and bring you a surprise. You are such a strong person and I believe that you are going to get past this and be able to live your life the way you should. I hope to meet you soon.
P.s. What is your favorite color?
Kindest Regards,
Sarah

16. Heidi Gerber - October 9, 2011

heyy talia its heidi i hope u feel better and beat cancer!!~~~~!~!

17. Susan S. Bemos - March 13, 2012

Hi Talia,

I just met you at breakfast at Chick-fa-lay yesterday. It was very nice to meet you. The Raw Apricot Seeds I was telling you about, you can buy, by calling 607-545-4125., or at http://www.ordershere.com. I could tell you are a strong willed person. I will be praying for you and your recovery. God Bless you……Susan S. Bemos

18. Billie-Jo - June 22, 2012

Talia,you such a fun spirted little girl you give me the biggest confiedence ever for being yourself your gorgeous!<3<3

19. Annette - August 9, 2012

Talia,
I read your story via several popular news websites & all I can say is – I think you are incredibly beautiful, sweet, funny, mature, and strong. Most grown adults I know (myself included!) don’t have a tenth of the courage, humor, and spunk that you do. You are truly amazing – and an inspiration to everyone, young and old. Please keep fighting. We are all rooting, hoping, & praying for you!!

PS – Bella is adorable!! I know she will continue to be great medicine for you. :-)))))

Best wishes,
Annette

20. Melissa - August 30, 2012

Dear talia,
I love you talia you are awesome you inspired me to wear makeup and to not care what others say to you. I hope you feel better and keep on making those videos no one will stop you. Thank you again for being so awesome keep up the good work talia!!!!! WE LOVE YOU<3CURE✌🏩🎀

21. gabriella - December 2, 2012

talie i love you so much iam not the prettiest girl we r about the same age iam 13 and u truly helped me plese feel free to contact me i love you so so much ur in my prayers thank you kisses :) i no this aint a long message but i love u stay strong iam actully goin to shave my head cus of u ps dont forget bald and proud stay in there love u kisses :) :) :) :) :)

22. gabriella - December 2, 2012

dont lose faith dont lose hope i no u belive in god and i do to so pray and i love u <3NEVER GIVE UP UNDERSTAND DONT LEAVE WHAT DO DOCTERS NO DONT STOP LOVE YOU:)

23. gabriella - December 2, 2012

PS ILL TRY TO RIGHT U EVERY DAY TILL U ARE UP BETTER AND WELL LOVE YOU

24. Maria - June 26, 2013

Someone tell this girl about healing naturally by bee!. Wtf or at least ketogenic diet

25. starr - July 4, 2013

This little amazing spirit is the exact reason why I’m studying to be a pediatric oncology nurse.

26. V.E.G. - July 16, 2013

R. I. P. Talia.

27. Anamaria - July 16, 2013

Followed all ur videos 2 obtain a perfect makeup & most importantly ur interviews teaching all of us 2 face life with joy and courage!

U had a short life yet U’ll have a long existance 2 those who knew U Talia!!! May U continue 2 smile where U R! U’ll B missed on this side!

28. memo - July 16, 2013

rip talia

29. Ashley - July 17, 2013

R.I.P., You were truly inspirational, I remember watching your videos for a long time even before you started to get popular on youtube. You taught me and others that even when your having a bad day that you should always make the best of it. I am sad your gone but I am happy your not in pain anymore :D I will and many others will try the best to cross off more items on your bucket list so we can still fulfill your dreams :D

30. pinkiepromiseerin - September 7, 2013

R.I.P Talia you have inspired me so much!
XXXXXX

31. samantha - November 24, 2013

Rest in peace :(

32. what is cancer - March 7, 2014

What’s up, the whole thing is going sound here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s in fact excellent, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

