jump to navigation

Life, Oh Life… November 6, 2008

Posted by Amanda Kern in Uncategorized.
trackback

This past week since I last saw Talia has flown by. I’ve been in touch with Desiree a few times over the last week and I’m impressed with how Talia’s recovery has been going. Last week when I left Talia she seemed so tired and content with being left alone. I don’t blame her for not wanting to open up to a stranger. I had hopes that during my visit this evening that she’d feel a little more comfortable with my company. Luckily having my two kids with me this evening helped her open up a bit more. Over the course of the evening I got to watch the kids play nintendo ds, draw, and enjoy music together.

Before I left her last week, with it being so close to Halloween I asked her what her favorite candy was. Her response: blow pops. So I left the hospital last week promising her that the next time I saw her I’d bring her blow pops. So this evening when I had the opportunity to visit her again, she certainly welcomed the blow pops.

blow pop

Though losing her hair is a constant reminder of her cancer, I thought it was cute seeing Talia this evening sporting two cute bat tattoos on her beautiful bald head.

bat tattoo

Shortly after arriving Desiree brought us back to where Talia’s step father, Larry, was playing the drums. One of the things I learned last week was how much Talia loves music. She loves to sing. She enjoys dancing. Larry began to play the drums to the music while Desiree sang and danced, in hopes that Talia would join in. I admired the love I felt in the room for this beautiful little girl. Though she continues to deal with the day to day moments that come with cancer, she’s so loved by her family. There’s no doubt that they strive to remind her to enjoy all the little moments in life, like singing and dancing tonight.

trying to get Talia to sing

Talia sat on a couch in the room and just watched.

watching Mom sing & dance

It was so awesome to see such huge smiles on her face this evening.

I couldn’t help but smile seeing some of her expressions this evening, like the look on her face at times as she watched her mother sing & dance.

watching her Mom sing & dance

And I must apologize to Desiree, because I know she wasn’t too interested in having her photo taken this evening but these moments were too priceless not to capture. I truly adored watching how much she loves Talia – and how hard she tried to convince her to get up and sing and dance with her.

sorry Desiree...

It was only a matter of time until Talia opened up to singing. When the popular black eyed peas song, “Where is the love?” was played she began to sing along with most of the song.

singing

The last song of the night requested by Desiree was the song “Life” by Melissa Desiree. It’s a special song to both Desiree and Talia. Talia arose to sing and dance with Desiree.

singing Life

Desiree told me what a beautiful song this was, and how touching the lyrics were. After hearing the song I must agree. Desiree, you need not search for the lyrics any longer, I think it’s quite fitting to include them.

Ooh, Yeah
Oh yeah
Oh Life
Oh Life
I’m afraid of the dark
Especially when I’m in the park
When there’s no one else around
Oh I get the shivers
I don’t wanna see a ghost
It’s the sight that I fear most
I’d rather have a piece of toast
Watch the evening news
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
I’m a superstitious girl
I’m the worst in the world
Never walk under ladders
I keep a rabbits’ tail
I’ll take you up on a dare
Anytime, anywhere
Name the place, I’ll be there
Bungee jumping, I don’t care
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life
So after all’s said and done
I know I’m not the only one
Life indeed can be fun
If you really want to
Sometimes living out your dreams
Ain’t as easy as it seems
You wanna fly around the world
In a beautiful balloon
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Life, oh life
Oh life, oh life
Oh life, oh life..

I truly admired watching the connection between Desiree and Talia this evening.

Desiree & Talia singing

Before the evening ended we took one last picture with the guinea pig she promised she’d show us before we left.

It was reassuring seeing Talia in better spirits this evening. Earlier this week she went in for tests which showed she’s gradually improving. Her platelets were at 66, which is a big improvement from last week. She’ll be returning to the clinic in the morning for more tests. Our fingers are crossed that she’ll continue to stay strong!

Comments»

1. Mandy - November 7, 2008

This is really moving to read and Talia reminds me so much of my nieces. I hope all is well with her and that she continues to get better. It is truly amazing to see someone with so much strength!

2. angel - June 24, 2012

you forgot to mention her awesome youtube videos!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

